By now, many know of the upcoming film Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides.  Along with a long list of other sequels, this is one of many films that will hit the big screen over the next two years.  It begs the question: Where is the originality?

First, I want to just give my opinion on Pirates of the Caribbean.  I’m one of those who, from the beginning of the Pirates of the Caribbean series, has thought that it is just horrible.  I thought the acting was horrible, I thought the story was horrible, I just didn’t think that it could get any worse than Pirates of the Caribbean… and then the sequel came out.  Honestly, I can’t take Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, or Keira Knightley seriously anymore in any of the films they play in.  I couldn’t take Johnny Depp seriously in any of the movies he played in before Pirates of the Caribbean and when Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley played roles next to Johnny Depp for three films, I couldn’t take them seriously anymore.  I will say that I think that Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley at least have talent.  However, for the new Pirates of the Caribbean film, they’ve gotten rid of Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley and kept Johnny Depp… Wonderful.

Is there not a point where Hollywood just says ‘enough already’ to some of these film ideas?  They’re exhausting every idea they have.  We’ve seen Pirates of the Caribbean before… Three times before!  Isn’t it time for something new?  But before I have you thinking that this post is strictly dealing with Pirates of the Caribbean, allow me to list the other sequels that will be hitting the screen over the next two years: Fast Five, Scream 4, The Wolverine, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol, Cars II, Super Troopers 2 (It’s only been announced as of now), X-Men: First Class, Transformers: Dark of the Moon, The Hangover Part II, an Untitled Spider-Man reboot, Men in Black III, Mad Max: Fury Road, Kick Ass 2: Balls to the Wall, and Bond film 23. Some of these seem like great ideas.  I personally can’t wait for The Hangover Part II and Kick Ass 2.  The first film of each were incredibly funny.  As for the rest, I’m not getting my hopes up.  The Scream series has become something of a comedy for me.  Whether it was supposed to be that way from the beginning is something I don’t know.  But I do know that whenever I watch those movies I can’t help but laugh the whole way through.  The acting, in my opinion, is terrible as is the story for all three previous films.  I’m sure the new movie will be the same.  I’m wondering why they felt the need to reboot the Spiderman series.  The last film sort of wrapped everything up and, in my opinion, it should have been left alone.  As for Bond 23, I am looking forward to that film.  Daniel Craig proved to be the best Bond, in my opinion, with the exception of Timothy Dalton ( played in 007: The Living Daylights and 007: License to Kill).  Everyone argues that Sean Connery was the best Bond.  I personally found that the seriousness of Timothy Dalton and Daniel Craig matched the Bond of Ian Fleming’s novels better than the other actors who portrayed Bond.

And then there are the sequels that weren’t mentioned above for good reason.  These sequels actually serve a purpose as they wrap up stories previously viewed on the big screen.  They include Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part I and II, The Dark Knight Rises, and The Hobbit Part I and IIThe Hobbit has been long awaited by fans and comes before The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

But where are the new ideas?  These are obviously the ideas that will draw in the most cash, which is the reason these sequels are getting made.  I would just love to see something original hit the big screen for a change.

Tell me what you think.  Post a comment.

