My last post dealt with how I felt that Hollywood is just running out of ideas.  When they resort to rebooting a film series or remaking classic films or coming up with sequels that ruin the original idea of a film that’s what I’m left to believe.  However, there is some light at the end of the tunnel.  There are a few films I’ve looked into that look as though they have a shred of originality to them.

Battle Los Angeles is a film that deals with an attack on Earth by Extraterrestrials.  I know, it’s been done before.  So, what’s so original you ask?  You can view the trailer on Youtube.  it looks phenomenal.  Sure, we’ve seen movies about an attack on Earth by Extraterrestrials.  But what makes this film appear so different is the spectacular displays in the film.  Just the trailer alone offers a great glimpse.  It appears so real.  Check it out.

Vanishing on 7th Street is a film that caught my attention because it mixes several elements.  The main character wakes up to a world practically empty of life.  The buildings are still there, but humanity seems to have left, with only their clothing remaining.  The main character, played by Hayden Christensen, finds other survivors and they find out that something sinister exists in the darkness around them.  The trailer for this film is also on youtube.  Check it out.

I am Number Four looks to have a shred of originality to it.  I’ll be honest, I don’t know a lot about this film.  I just haven’t looked into it as much as I have a few other films.  But, based on the trailer, also found on youtube, it looks like it’s a story that might put an interesting twist on the whole ‘human with superpowers’ plot.  Check it out and see what you think.

Super 8 is a complete mystery.  Not a lot is being released about this film.  All that is out at the moment is the teaser trailer that you can find on, you guessed it, youtube.  I do know that it is a project written and directed by J.J. Abrams and Steven Spielberg is the producing.  J.J. Abrams is a great writer and director.  The teaser trailer is very… interesting.  Check it out.

I will keep you posted on any upcoming films that seem to have a shred of originality.

