Each day is a series of choices: what to wear, what to eat, what to say, how to feel, how to act, when to open your mouth or keep it shut. Each one of these choices redirects our course. I’m a firm believer in things happening for a reason, in being given the opportunity to make something wonderful happen, but you can’t sit back and wait for the sign. You have to know it’s there, take it in, and do something about it.

I started reading The Secret sometime back, and the first major lesson I’ve learned is that positive thinking makes things happen. I have this theory about Mondays, and it’s that they’re bad. There’s no logic behind this at all, except that it dates back to my younger years when Monday meant six days until saturday. Half a day of classes on Saturday. And not every day is the same.

On Monday, I cram everything into my day. I wake up and usually end up puttering around before going actually deciding that I need to go to work. I get out of the bed, push myself to the wash and then get ready. By mid-afternoon, I’m a little burned out but still hanging on. And at night, I have a small talk right after dinner. It’s a routine, sort of, but it often gets rearranged based on assignments. By Tuesday, I’m getting the hang of the week.

This Monday, I felt like I needed a new attitude. Go into the week with a little more positivity. On Sunday night, I said it would be a good week. Why not, you know? And believe me, Monday was so kind to me. Positive thinking really does have transformative power.

The good (and maybe bad) news is I’m a thinker. Big time. I have 86,400 seconds a day to convince myself how to feel. That’s a lot of seconds to fall on one side of the line or the other. So I figure if I spend more than half of those seconds thinking good thoughts, feeding into positivity, it’ll be a good day.

It’s math, right? No crazy stuff going on. Just plain and simple math.

This explains why I liked numerical methods in the university. Clearly I’m a math guy(now and not when I was in school). When the math’s on your side, don’t question it. You’ve got all the time in the world to make each little choice reinforce your belief that it’s going to be the best freaking day in the world.

Okay, so maybe only the best day of the week or the month. But still, don’t knock yourself down before you start, right?

